A mostly photographic blog of our crazy world

Sure Baby How Hard Could it be!

I love my big family, but with seven of us in the picture ranging from 1 year to 37 years, it can be very difficult just to get one good shot of the family. My recent comment to my wife was hey baby I should buy a remote then we could get some family portraits, it will be easy (husbands famous last words right up there with hold my beer)! With the most recent shoot of the family I clicked nearly 900 pics in a few hours some from in front of the camera with a remote so we could have some good pics of the entire family together which is why I love and hate modern technology. So here are some of the results from that shoot?

First off a small disclaimer and apology to Madison, we are a family that is all about having fun, but as I recently had to explain to Maddy, when there are seven of us and if one of you decides to do something funny in the shoot, then someone else does, then Kyrie won’t look at the camera, then Zander wants down, I end up with nothing at the end of a long shoot and daddy might have gotten a little frustrated when he got home went through the pics and said daughter had made a face in every single good shot!!! I might have been a little harsh and for that I apologize, especially as these usually cause smiles and I can get candid shots that are so much better than the “say cheese shots” that always look so unnatural. But with the remote I can’t see whats going on till later.

Well in all honesty you end up with some fun shots that usually don’t find there way to a frame on the wall but they do hold some good memories, which we have from all of our family shoot attempts!

So how hard could it be lets just start with mom dad and have big sis take the pictures. This will help us get to the root of the problem! I constantly am having to remind them no funny faces so I can get a couple shots without them but i wonder who starts it:

IMG_5744 IMG_5745 IMG_5746 IMG_5749

Busted in that last pic because the camera women was cracking up, but we did get a couple in fairness that I like:

IMG_5736_edited-1 IMG_5737_edited-1

So lets throw the 2 younger kids in there and see what happens:

IMG_5757 IMG_5758 IMG_5760 IMG_5761 IMG_5763 IMG_5765 IMG_5767 IMG_5768

So lets do a quick recap; I don’t want to mom, oh look hair my favorite, let go, look at the camera please and leave your brother alone, in my wife’s defense she is not strangling him but tickling him for the smile, and it works but wait Kyrie escapes and shes back but oh look more hair, I think mommy is almost bald now!

So what do we do; what else lets through the other three kids in and dad can use his new toy 🙂

IMG_5447 IMG_5448 IMG_5449 IMG_5451 IMG_5452

THese are all the shots from this pose and guess what miss maddie pulled a face in every one, grrrrr! this might have been where daddy got a little gruff at home when he started going through them. So lets move on to another pose:

IMG_5468

And between daddy trying to get the remote to work she strikes again now in all fairness we got some good ones in this pose so I don’t mind some good memories some fun and a good family pic.

IMG_5469_edited-1

Finally a family shot with the whole family! That is something we don’t have enough of! This is what life is about though lots of fun with the kids on the river with some good memories to be preserved hopefully forever!

 

 

2 responses

  1. I think they turned out wonderfully! You are an amazing dad to admit that you were a little short with her and apologize. It’s one of those things parents need to do more often!

    April 24, 2014 at 2:57 pm

    • Thank you Betsy and as is human nature it is very hard to do sometimes even when we know we are wrong!

      April 25, 2014 at 4:06 am

Leave a Reply

